How Many Capital Cities Are in Africa?

Actually, this is a trick question, this is because some of the African countries have multiple capitals cities.

There are currently 54 independent countries in Africa. So assuming that all have capitals, this would make 54 capital cities.

But South Africa has three separate cities that share the power. There is also Eswatini (former Swaziland), and it has two cities that serve as capitals.

So the total number of capital cities in Africa is in fact 57.

South Africa is currently the only country in the world with three capitals and these are Cape Town, Bloemfontein, and Pretoria. Please follow the link to read more in my separate text.

Eswatini country has two capitals. These are Mbabane, the administrative capital of the country (the top picture above), and Lobamba, the legislative and royal capital. Both capitals are small, but Lobamba in particular, it has around 10000 inhabitants only. This should not be surprising because the country as a whole is around one million people.

Here is the list of the remaining 52 countries in alphabetical order, with their single capitals:

  1. Algeria (Algiers).
  2. Angola (Luanda).
  3. Benin (Porto-Novo).
  4. Botswana (Gaborone).
  5. Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou).
  6. Burundi (Gitega).
  7. Cabo Verde (Praia).
  8. Cameroon (Yaounde).
  9. Central African Republic (Bangui).
  10. Chad (N’Djamena).
  11. Comoros (Moroni).
  12. Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa).
  13. Republic of the Congo (Brazzaville).
  14. Cote d’Ivoire (Yamoussoukro).
  15. Djibouti (Djibouti City).
  16. Egypt (Cairo).
  17. Equatorial Guinea (Malabo).
  18. Eritrea (Asmara).
  19. Ethiopia (Addis Ababa).
  20. Gabon (Libreville).
  21. Gambia (Banjul).
  22. Ghana (Accra).
  23. Guinea (Conakry).
  24. Guinea-Bissau (Bissau).
  25. Kenya (Nairobi).
  26. Lesotho (Maseru).
  27. Liberia (Monrovia).
  28. Libya (Tripoli).
  29. Madagascar (Antananarivo).
  30. Malawi (Lilongwe).
  31. Mali (Bamako).
  32. Mauritania (Nouakchott).
  33. Mauritius (Port Louis).
  34. Morocco (Rabat).
  35. Mozambique (Maputo).
  36. Namibia (Windhoek).
  37. Niger (Niamey).
  38. Nigeria (Abuja).
  39. Rwanda (Kigali).
  40. Sao Tome and Principe (São Tomé).
  41. Senegal (Dakar).
  42. Seychelles (Victoria).
  43. Sierra Leone (Freetown).
  44. Somalia (Mogadishu).
  45. South Sudan (Juba).
  46. Sudan (Khartoum).
  47. Tanzania (Dodoma).
  48. Togo (Lomé).
  49. Tunisia (Tunis).
  50. Uganda (Kampala).
  51. Zambia (Lusaka).
  52. Zimbabwe (Harare).

Now you see, these 52 single capitals plus those 5 capitals in South Africa and Eswatini make 57 capitals in total in Africa.

Thank you for reading. Let me know if you have questions, there is a comment box below. Have a nice day.
5/5 - (1 vote)
Spread the love

Leave a Comment